Appie of the Year

Since 1979, the Advisory Committee of the New York–North Jersey Chapter of the Appalachian Mountain Club has chosen the Appie of the Year. The Appie of the Year is an individual who gives selflessly of him/herself for the good of the Club. The Appie is one who works tirelessly, sometimes behind the scenes, organizing trips, activities and programs, and by leading in practice and by example.

The Appie of the Year is someone who has served in this manner for several years, thus over time continuing this commitment. Likewise the Appie of the Year is an active volunteer, rather than someone who served well in the past, or for a limited time. The Appie exemplifies what is best about the volunteer ethic that makes our Club, and particularly our Chapter, so special.

We need nominations from you and your fellow members. You know best who meets these criteria. Nominees must be current members of the New York-North Jersey Chapter.  If you think someone may be deserving of the Appie of the Year Award, do not hesitate to send in that person’s name and a detailed paragraph or two discussing this person’s contributions to the Chapter to

Past recipients of the Appie of the Year Award include: Helen Fair, John Humbach, Jean Lumbard, Anita Barberis, Fran Braley, Ann Loeb, Dick Wolff, Wayne Foote, Dr. Albert Rosen, Betty Van De Water, Doris Repke, Jane Levenson, Don Getzen, Henry Schreiber, Marty Cohen, Art and Nancy Tollefson, Ken West, Jonathan Silver, David Brucas, Carson Tang, Bob Susser, Lennie Grefig, Cynthia Tollo Falls, Frank Bamberger, Martin Plante, David Lamb, Joe Nigro, Diane Serlin, Nathan Baker, Loretta Brady, Eileen Yin, and most recently, in 2021, Carrie Ho (pictured above).

Following the nominations, the full Advisory Committee, which includes all of the former Chapter Chairs, will vote to make the final selection. The winner will be announced at the Chapter’s Annual Meeting in the fall. The deadline for this year is October 31, 2022. Submit nominations to